Aztec print pencil skirt

I really wanted to do some sewing this weekend, but didn’t have the time to do a big project. I wanted something that could be done in a couple of hours with minimal effort but was still wearable and looked good.

I have had this aztec print fabric from Girl Charlee UK for a while now but hadn’t got round to using it yet. I decided that a simple pencil skirt would be ideal with the fabric and also quick and easy.

I am finding it so much easier at the moment to draft my own patterns as I have more freedom with how I can make things. I didn’t draft a whole new pattern for this make though, instead I used the pattern I made for the body con dress I made in January (https://sewinginstead.wordpress.com/2017/02/13/january/) but only used it from the waist down. This made the whole process a lot quicker as I knew it all ready fit me!

The next step was cutting out. I love the pattern on the fabric but the chevrons made it difficult to match up and cut out the back and front so they would match up at the side seams. It took a while but I did it in the end. I then cut a strip 2.5 inches from the top of the skirt to make my waistband, I knew it was high enough for me to do this.

I made sure to match up the pattern again on the side seams of the waistband and skirt before sewing them together with my overlocker. I was nervous about how well they would match up but I am pretty pleased with the result. I then folded the waistband in half, wrong sides together, before attaching it to the top of the skirt again with the overlocker.

To finish off I overlocked the bottom hem and then folded it up twice before stitching down with my twin needle on my sewing machine.

I will definitely be making more of these as it was so quick and easy. It also only used about half a metre of fabric so I have loads left ready for another project.

I can’t wait to stock up on my fabric stash next weekend at the sewing for pleasure show at the NEC, I also need to look for some very specific things for a special project I have in mind for the Easter holidays!

2 thoughts on “Aztec print pencil skirt

Leave a Reply

