The Handmade fair – Ragley Hall

A few months ago my Mum suggested a trip to The Handmade Fair at Ragley Hall. I didn’t know much about it but couldn’t pass up the chance to go on another sewing day out. I didn’t have anything in mind that I wanted to get and so didn’t think I would spend that much but just wanted to see what was there. This didn’t last long because as soon as I arrived at my parents house I was shown a bag of fabric which was going spare!  I immediately picked out a light blue lightweight wool, I have had my eye on the Sew Over It Chloe Coat for a while but wasn’t in a rush to make it and so hadn’t looked for any fabric, but this was PERFECT and Free! Now I just needed some lining…

I read a few reviews on The Handmade Fair the night before as I wanted to see who was exhibiting there, unfortunately they weren’t all positive mainly because of the limited number of stalls and exhibitors so I wasn’t sure if I would be able to find anything. When we arrived you could see all the marquees but I definately wasn’t as big as I was expecting, in fact there was only 1 main shopping marquee with a much smaller one for food and drink exhibitors all surrounded by food stalls and a couple of workshop marquees. 

Most of the stalls were for crafting which all looked amazing but not what I was going to be doing. Some other members of our group did get a few things from these stalls and trying all the food samples and gin flavours is always fun! However, there were a couple of stalls selling fabric and both had some beautiful bolts so my money ended up being spent there instead! 

The first we found was The Sewing Cafe, who I had bought all the bag furniture from for my African Wax Print Bag at the Sewing for Pleasure show at the NEC in March. They had some beautiful jersey fabric but I refrained as I have too many in my stash already.  In the back corner were some tall roles of some floral prints, one of which matched perfectly with the swatch I had brought with me of the wool. It was a pink and blue ditsy floral viscose so would be perfect for the lining. I didn’t buy it straight away as I wanted to look around but after a few more trips back I got 2m which will be more then enough for the lining and possibly something else depending on the pattern layout. On one of the other visits to The Sewing Cafe another fabric was pointed out to me, it was a navy cotton linen blend with a large green and pink floral print. The lady on the stand was wearing a Bettine dress in a similar type of fabric with a different print and I loved it, so as soon as this fabric was pointed out to me I knew what I wanted to make and it was sold to me!

Just around the corner was the Sew Me Something stand, on the corner of the stand they had their patterns. My sister immediately pointed out the Hero Trousers and asked me to make her some. I really liked that they also had made up versions of their patterns on the stand as the pictures on the pattern are just drawings and so it was good to see how they turned out. Again, they had some beautiful bolts of fabric but I was drawn to another floral print (I think a theme is happening here!) this time on black with brown blue and mustard colours in the print, it was a stretch cotton which would also be ideal for slim fit trousers. My sister really loved it too but wanted something with more pink in for hers so I got some for myself! I have also been eyeing up the Sew Over It Ultimate Trousers so I think either of these patterns will work. 

Having not thought I would spend much I was now spent up, my fabric stash is overflowing and so I CAN’T BUY ANY MORE! Well not until the summer holidays anyway 😂. 

I did enjoy the show but it could definately just be done in half a day, which we did. There were a few shows later on which would have been good to see but we would have been hanging round for hours so we didnt bother. If we had seen the workshop timetable beforehand we could have gone later rather than in the morning but then they may have been booked up. I would like to go to the one at Hampton Court Palace to compare as I think it will be bigger and so have more sewing stalls, I don’t think I am going to be able to this year but maybe next.

Now to find the time to make these three things! Although, I think I have organised a sewing weekend with my sister in August to make up the trousers, just need to find her some fabric so she can make hers! 

Leave a Reply

